How do I secure my Google account

experto.de

Here's how to make your Google account completely safe

Reading time: 2 minutes

The Google Account is a handy tool for many users. With the free applications of the search engine company you can send e-mails, manage contacts and save appointments. If you log in to your PC and Android smartphone or tablet PC with the same access data, the data is automatically synchronized and available on all devices. That is practical.

The catch is that hackers who have gained access to your Google account also have access to the entire database. So you should take the time to better protect your account. Google offers the appropriate tool somewhat hidden.

This is how two-factor authentication works

Two-factor authentication is a simple protection mechanism that more and more online services that manage sensitive data are relying on. The smartphone is connected to the account as an additional security key so that not only the combination of a user name and a password is sufficient for logging into a service.

If you log in to a service from a device, you will not get direct access to the data. Instead, an SMS with a code is first sent to the previously stored mobile device. Your account will only be opened if you have entered the code correctly.

How to set up two-factor authentication on Google

To set up the process on Google, first call up the Google settings. Then click with the mouse on the link "Confirmation in two steps" and then on "Start setup". Then enter the number of your mobile phone and decide whether the security code should be sent by SMS or phone call. If you are on your private PC, you should activate the "Trust this computer" option in the following dialog.

The computer is then classified as trustworthy. This has two advantages: On the one hand, you do not need a confirmation SMS to log into your Google account from this PC. On the other hand, you can also access your account from this computer if, for example, you have misplaced or even lost your cell phone.

The protective mechanism takes effect immediately after the setting. If you log into your Google account from a computer that has not been marked with the "Trust this Computer" option, access will be denied until you have entered the SMS code sent. Hackers have no chance of hijacking your account. At the same time, you will become aware of abuse if you receive SMS messages with security codes without attempting to log in yourself.

Photo credit: sebra / stock.adobe.com

PS: Quality management is important to us!

Please let us know how you like our post. To do this, click on the asterisks shown below (5 asterisks = very good):

PPS: Did you particularly like the article?

Support our advisor portal: